Why Do I Write?

Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers.

Isaac Asimov

When I was younger, I used to write things up whenever I was emotionally disturbed or depressed. Well, I guess people become thoughtful when they are upset. I used to keep diaries but wasn’t that regular. Sometimes I tried poetry. Sometimes I wrote quotes of my own. I believe the reason behind my writing has lot to do with my passion for reading.

I was kind of a lone wolf back at school days. I had good friends but I didn’t hang out with them much. My best friend was Books. I used to read lots of book. I just loved to dive in the story of a book or more accurately, the writers imaginary world. There were countless days, when I was so consumed in a story, I skipped everything including eating or shower, loosing the track of time. Sometimes I used to read storybooks before even going for an exam, rather revising studies. I used to save up my pocket money and spend most of it behind books. And to be honest, my mother wasn’t very happy when she found outย these craziness ๐Ÿ˜‰ What can I say, it was worth it, and every other bookworm will agree with me ๐Ÿ™‚ย 

I spent my entire childhood in an environment in which the mighty of the earth had no place outside story books and dreams.

Halldor Laxness

Let’s get back to writing. All those books I’ve read, whether it’s detective, action, thriller or a thoughtful biography, every book has inspired me to see life in different point of views. They have made me realize how strong a pen (or keyboard) can be. I have traveled to many countries, I have traveled far away space and deep ocean, I have traveled to past and future and so many other places, being the writers’ companion. That is the power of a writer. They can take you to places you have never imagined of, they can show you realities you never thought off. These have always driven me to try writing. As I have said earlier, I used to try sometimes, but none of them were finished or close to completion. Then again, I didn’t try enough. Life can get very busy being stuck between grades and results. But I want to write again.ย 

Last year I have started out a blog with a friend, where we write about Engineering and Technology related topics. That blog was basically an attempt to share our technical knowledge with others in easier and understandable way. But you really cannot explore or improve your writing abilities with topics like that. That’s when I came across Blogging university and It’s courses on Writing and Blogging. I was really amazed by the materials and I thought let’s give it a try.ย 

Writing is an exploration. You start from nothing and learn as you go.

E. L. Doctorow

In every creative work, perfection comes with iteration. This isn’t any different in the case of writing. So, I guess I have to keep trying to write and give words some meaning. If I continue to write after 2-3 years and someone asks me why do I write, I may have a different answer. But today, I’m writing because I want to write better. I want to give words to my imaginations and I want to create a world with those words. I want to …. I just want to write.

The art of writing is the art of discovering what you believe.

Gustave Flaubert

Blogging University : Finding Everydayย Inspirationย Day One: I Write Because . . .

13 thoughts on “Why Do I Write?

Add yours

  1. Loved that quote of Asimov at the beginning and that being the header of the blog, I loved it all. Kind of made me nostalgic about my own early writing days ๐Ÿ™‚ the blog is more like a bit of inspiration ๐Ÿ™‚ Keep writing!

    Like

  2. Love this…

    “That is the power of a writer. They can take you to places you have never imagined of, they can show you realities you never thought off”

    I feel the same way about reading, I left it alone for a lot of years but when I picked it back up it was magical ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ‘

    Like

    1. Thanks!

      It’s great to know that you feel the same way about reading ๐Ÿ™‚

      About leaving books, it happened to me as well, once I got busy with college and stuff. But I still feel the same way about books. And yeah, it’s magical ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I wish I could say that I am a big reader. I really started blogging in 2011 when I moved from Canada to Italy. Gave it up for a while and started again when my daughter was born. I’m not as consistant as I would like to be and I would say that well, I’m just really opinionated and sometimes need somewhere to vent ๐Ÿ˜›

    Like

    1. Hello Doug! I’m not much of a reader these days as well. Neither am I a consistent blogger. However lately I’m feeling that I definitely should make some time to read new books as well as vent sometimes by writing. These can be really helpful to recharge one ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I always loved the title of Anthony Powell’s book, #10 in his 12 piece masterpiece, ‘A Dance to the Music of Time’. It was ‘Books Do Furnish a Room’ because it’s true, you’re never alone with a book and reading inspires writing. Personally, I’ve always compared writing to breathing, an essential activity I can’t question, however difficult sometimes. Nice blog and kudos to Suze (http://suziland.net/2017/04/april-z-challenge-x-amples-posts/) for making the connection.

    Like

Share your Opinion, Join the Conversation :)

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

