My Bucket List : Things I Want to Do Within the Next 5 Years

What is a Bucket List?

By definition Bucket list is “a number of experiences or achievements that a person hopes to have or accomplish during their lifetime or a certain time period”. The term gained popularity after the 2007 movie “The Bucket List” where Morgan Freeman and Jack Nicholson (both of whose characters are dying of cancer) create a bucket list of things to do before they die – and then actually do them! Does that mean you need to have a deathly disease to make a bucket list? NO. Everyone can and should have a bucket list. Because our life in this earth is too short. It’s better to know the things you desire and try to achieve them when you have the time and opportunity rather discovering yourself old one day and realizing how you have wasted your life doing unimportant things which meant nothing to your soul. 

So I tried to make a bucket list of my own. But I thought, hey I don’t know where I’m going to be in 5 years of time or what kind of person would I become. So it’s not really logical to make a life long bucket list right now. That’s why I’m making a 5 years bucket list. I think it’s more definitive and more achievable.

My Bucket List

1. Learning a new language (German) 

2. Running a marathon / half-marathon

3. Taking up a new sport (Swimming, Tennis, Skating etc)

4. Scuba diving

5. Learn skiing

6. Doing an extreme sport (Skydiving, Paragliding etc)

7. Climbing a mountain

8. Flying in a hot-air balloon

9. Singing to an audience

10. Experiencing a sunrise/sunset with her

11. Seeing the Northern Lights

12. Stargazing and photographing star trails

13. Publishing a book

14. Public speaking in front of 1,000 people (or more)

15. Further my education (Masters)

16. Playing a musical instrument (Guitar)

17. Learning a martial art

18. Going on a road trip with her

19. Backpacking across at least 10 locations

20. Living in a different country for at least 6 months

21. Creating my dream home

22. Seeing snowfall

23. Falling asleep on grassy plains (maybe in a meadow with her)

24. Visiting a volcano

25. Flying in a helicopter

26. Going on a cruise

27. Going on a romantic getaway (picnic on a hilltop maybe)

28. Visiting a castle

29. Learning sign language and do some nerdy project about it

30. Seeing the Mona Lisa (in Louvre, in Paris)

31. Getting married to the girl I love

32. Modifying a car and redesign it

33. Getting a job in any automotive company

34. Visiting Italy, France and Switzerland with her

35. Learning to drift

36. Visiting all my favorite car companies in Europe (Lamborghini, Ferrari, McLaren, Audi, BMW etc)

37. Getting an international driving license 

38. Watching a cricket match at Lords, England

39. Making a bookshelf by myself and organize all my books

40. Building a Six-pack

Make Your Own Bucket List

Now that you have seen my bucket list for upcoming 5 years, it’s time for you to grab a paper and make your own list. Making a bucket list is easy. You simply start writing down the things that you’ve always wanted to do but you never got around to doing. The key is to simply start writing the first things that come into your head with no consideration of whether you should or shouldn’t want to do a particular thing.  By writing exactly what comes into your head you are being true to your innermost core, and being honest with yourself is the most important thing of all. I’ve gathered some questions you can answer to find out your innermost desires. Start writing down what comes to mind as you read these questions:

  • What would you wish you could do before you die, if you were to die tomorrow?
  • If you had unlimited time, money and resources, what would you do with it?
  • What have you always wanted to do but have not done yet?
  • Which countries, places or locations you always wanted to visit?
  • What are your biggest goals and dreams in life?
  • What achievements do you want to have?
  • What experiences do you want to have / feel?
  • Are there any special moments / events you want to witness?
  • What new activities or skills do you want to learn or try out?
  • What are the most important things you can ever do for yourself?
  • What would you like to say/do together with other people? People you love? Family? Friends?
  • Are there any specific people you want to meet in person?
  • What do you want to achieve in the different areas: Social, Love, Family, Career, Finance, Health (Your weight, Fitness level), Spiritual?
  • What do you need to do to lead a life of the greatest meaning?

Come up with as many items as you can. The items should be things you have not done yet. If you find yourself stuck, chances are you are mentally limiting/constraining yourself. Release those shackles — Your bucket list is meant to be a list of everything you want to achieve, do, see, feel and experience in your life. 

Tell me in the comment section what do you think about my bucket list. Which of these have you done already? Don’t hesitate to share your experiences with others 🙂 And if you still don’t have a bucket list then make one and share the link here.

Blogging University : Finding Everyday Inspiration Day Two: Write a List

Inspired from Personal Excellence
14 thoughts on “My Bucket List : Things I Want to Do Within the Next 5 Years

Add yours

  1. Lovely list….I have done quite a few of them already and am doing some at the moment (learning German, for example). But whenever I make a list, I end up not following them. I would rather treat each day as new and experience what life throws at me, rather than plan it up. That works better for me. Oh yes! and I do hope you get to fulfill whatever you’ve planned to do in the next 5 years. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks a lot 🙂
      It’s true that lists are not followed most of the time. I can never finish my to-do lists completely, so not to become much optimistic, but I hope I’ll fulfill these 40 at least.
      And whatever we plan, life always has some other plans for us. That’s why I’m not planning anymore, just wishing in a buckeklist 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. ‘With her’. 😀 This came up quite regularly, must be quite a girl who’ve captivated your heart. Cool list. Enjoy the journey in checking the items off your bucket list.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah! She is one of a kind 😀 We have sooo many things in common and our passions are so interconnected, she kept coming while I was writing this 🙂 I hope I will be able to do most of the items on this list with her 🙂

      Thanks for your comment! Have a nice day!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I already have a few things that I already scratched off of my bucket list and some of them were things I wanted to do since I was a kid. I wanted to see a guard in London since then and wanted to visit Chicago due to it being called a windy city and both have already been accomplished. Even seeing Les Mis in London was on my bucket list and was even a dream and that has been crossed off the list too.

    I even want to see Les Mis in Spanish and many people think I am crazy about that, but because I have been learning Spanish, I want to be able to see a show that I know that I know really well in a foreign language so that way I will understand what is going on. I even want to visit France again and do want to see the catacombs.

    I know what I eventually want to do. I want to work in Nonprofit and even start my own. I really want to expose those who are homeless to theatre and allow them to be in plays and musicals and even see them as well. More things could be added to this bucket list, but thats all I can think of for now.

    Like

    1. Thanks a lot for sharing your short bucket list! And Congrats for the things you have managed to scratch off from your list. I want to see the guards in London as well 🙂

      I am learning German and I think I want to be able to watch my favorite movies in German too. What’s the point in learning new language if you cannot enjoy it! So there’s nothing crazy if you want to see Les Mis in Spanish, I think it’s great. Good Luck with that.

      I have worked in many non-profits, but I really liked your idea of “expose those who are homeless to theater and allow them to be in plays and musicals and even see them”. I really hope that you will manage to achieve that one day 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. About the Les Mis thing, the reason why people think I am crazy is because they are like “why see it in Spanish if it is not in your Native Language and how in the world will you understand what is going on?”

        I am thinking “do they not know who I am, I am obsessed with Les Mis and I know it extremely well that I could easily see it in any language”.

        Three years ago, I remembered seeing a play in Spanish in Costa Rica and I enjoyed it, but didn’t understand what was going on. I was thinking I really want to see a show in Spanish again some day, but I want to understand whats going on, so I thought “Les Mis because it is the show I know the best and I think there is something about that show that would be so cool to see in another language”

        Like

        1. If you know Les Mis very well then you will understand whats going on easily. In fact it’s a great way to get better at a new language, to watch a familiar movie.

          And if anyone says “if it is not in your Native Language and how in the world will you understand what is going on?”, then they are wrong because all the movies I watch are mostly in my non-native language and I understand and enjoy them pretty well 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  4. Amazing list! So inspiring! I find myself thinking of doing many of the things above.
    I’m thinking now of making a list as well!

    Like

    1. Hallo Dacian!
      I’m glad that this inspired you! If you make your list, don’t forget to share it with me 🙂 Looking forward to that.
      I have visited your blog too. You have some great stuff over there. Carry on 🙂
      Tschuss 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Share your Opinion, Join the Conversation :)

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

