The Space To Write : My Writing Habits & Dreams

What does a “Space” mean? Just a place? Well, literally it would mean only a place, but there are more to this word. Space can also mean, the freedom to live, think, and develop in a way that suits one. So if someone asks you what kind of space do you need for writing, I think that question refers to that mental free space, more than any physical space.

Anyway, I started writing today to share my writing habits and spaces. I have discussed earlier about my passion for reading and how that have inspired me to write.Β If you haven’t read that already then you should definitely check it out.

Writing Habits

I have no writing habit. I work when I feel like it, and I work when I have to – mostly the latter.

Barbara Mertz

Well, Barbara stole my exact words. I have no writing habit! I mostly write when I feel like it. But that’s way too unpredictable. I started blogging only couple of months ago. And I’m still trying to be regular at it. I realize that if I just sit down determined to write something, I can end up writing it. But the problem is right there. Determination. I cannot gather the patience it takes most of the time and end up writing nothing.

WordPress blogging university has some great resources for lethargic bloggers like me. I am currently trying to make a habit of writing by following one of the courses called Everyday Inspiration. Still all I manage to do is write something in every 4-5 days interval. Well, that’s still a pattern, right? Let’s see how far this takes me.

Writing Equipment

It might sound crazy, but I always wanted to write on a typewriter. The way the letters take their places one after one, the sounds of typing, the whole feeling, I don’t know why, but it really fascinates me. Obviously laptops are more convenient. But convenience won’t make any real racer choose an automatic transmission car over a manual one, if you know what I mean πŸ˜‰

There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed.

Ernest Hemingway

I used to write on my diaries when I was younger. Paper and pen definitely feels better than computers in case of writing, just as a printed book feels better to read than e-books. But writing on computer, I mean blogging, takes your skills further. You get to present your thoughts to hundreds of people and you can improve your writing skills by listening to others opinions. That is one convenience, novice writers like me, undoubtedly needs. So nowadays, I only write on my laptop. Some day when I get the opportunity, I use it or not, I’m definitely going to buy a typewriter πŸ™‚ Β 

Physical Space for Writing

I like to write in a quiet mental space. That means the place I’m sitting might not necessarily be silent or empty, that doesn’t affect me. As long as I am having a mental solitude, I can write. For that reason I don’t have a fixed physical space where I write. Sometimes I use my table where I do all my works. But most of the time it’s so messy that I cannot find a room for my laptop. So I come to my bed with the laptop and write there instead.Β 

I have a vision though, about the place where I would really love to write. Someday when I have the opportunity, I’ll make a study room filled with my books. But this study room won’t be a dark, shadowy and lifeless place like we see in many houses. I like open places. I would like the room to have a side completely made of glass windows. This will let the air and light get in. All the other walls will be covered with books. There will be shelves inside the room when books increase, but none of the shelves will be too high. They should be of a minimal height so that the whole room is clearly in sight, everything is well lit and open. In that room I would like to sit on a table facing the windows and write. Yeah, I guess I described it right. I think before getting to that room, no other place will really matter in my writing.

Call for Suggestions & Ideas

At this point, I’m supposed to ask for your suggestions for a future assignment. So, what would you like me to write about in the future? I’d really appreciate if you let me know about any topic or subjects, which you would like to read about from my perspective. You can leave your suggestions and ideas in the comments.Β I will try to write about every single of them. Don’t forget to share your opinions about the post as well. Looking forward to your comment.

PS:Β If you’d prefer giving your suggestions privately then use the Contact Form instead πŸ™‚

Blogging University Everydayinspiration : The Space to Write

8 thoughts on “The Space To Write : My Writing Habits & Dreams

Add yours

  1. Well…i am a lot like you, in the sense, I can write anywhere and my idea of a space to write is quite similar to yours. I too like to flip the pages of a book physically and actually I love the way every book smells (might sound wierd!). And Word press university is useful for a lazy writer like me to get into the habit of writing regularly. I really don’t know what to suggest as a topic for you to write, because I write better when not prompted. Let me think and get back to you on that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s great to know that we have some similar preferences about writing spaces πŸ™‚
      And I love the smell of books too, it’s not weird at all πŸ˜€ New books have one kind of essence and Older ones have other, and I love all of them πŸ™‚
      I like to write freely as well, but I just want to finish this course properly, because I never finish anything. So trying to be committed this time. Looking forward to your suggestion about the prompt.

      Like

      1. Hey! God….I can’t believe that we really really think similar. I am also doing this course because I never finish anything…And I just noticed that we both have the same themes for our blogs…coincidence??

        Like

  2. .. and about your next inspiration.. well i am sending you the link http://wp.me/p35IYp-tz.. Its a love story of two characters.. How about writing about your thoughts on this one !! The links to the earlier chapters are at the end of the post.. Waiting !!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

  3. Hey.. I just stumbled upon your blog in the community pool and trust me I am super impressed.. Love the crispiness of the layout and the choice of images.. This topic is pretty interesting and very relevant to every blogger on the platform.. I agree with the solitude part and the laptop part.. I love writing too but now I think i am better heard on the digital platform.. can’t wait to hear from you soon!! πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Thanks a lot for your appreciation πŸ™‚
      I am very interested in web designs and photography, and I believe that, a blog should look good alongside being well written. So, I try to keep the layout clean and organized as well as decorate with relevant photos πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Share your Opinion, Join the Conversation :)

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

